[Skip to Content]

Science in Society Journalism Awards

Call for Entries and Rules  Create an Entry      Past Winners       Contact

Entries for the 2019 awards open on December 4. Return here then to enter.

How to Use this Site

To access the Awards Entry site, you need to be logged in.  Click the button on the left to login.  NASW members and those who already have NASW Guest Accounts can use their existing NASW website login information. New users will be prompted to create a new Guest Account.

When you are logged in, you will see a menu on the left.  Before you are able to see options for creating entries, you will need to complete the information under "My Profile."  Once you save your profile, click here to begin an entry.

The Purpose

The National Association of Science Writers established the Science in Society awards to provide recognition — without subsidy from any professional or commercial interest — for investigative or interpretive reporting about the sciences and their impact on society. NASW especially encourages entries of critical, probing pieces that would not receive an award from a special interest group. Beginning with the first award in 1972, winners have demonstrated innovative reporting that goes well beyond the science itself and into ethical problems and social implications. A committee of accomplished peers judges the entries each year.

The Awards

NASW will award separate cash prizes of $2,000 for writing judged best in each of seven categories:

  • Books
  • Opinion
  • Science Reporting (Short, Medium, or Long)
  • Science Reporting for a Local or Regional Market
  • Science Reporting Series

All prizes will be platform-independent. We’re open to entries from print, broadcast and online journalists. 

The awards will be announced in September 2019 and presented during ScienceWriters2019, scheduled for October 25-29 in State College, PA. Reasonable travel and up to two nights’ hotel expenses of the award winners will be reimbursed. In cases of multiple authors or producers, only one person’s expenses will be covered, and the prize money will be split between the entrants at their discretion. However, the prize money is intended for content authors or producers, not publications or news organizations.


Any writer (or team) is eligible to submit one entry in each category. All entries should be attributed to a bylined creator or creators. There is no submission fee for current members of the National Association of Science Writers. The entry fee for non-members and those entering on behalf of members but not members themselves is $45 per entry.

To read the rules and enter, visit the Call for Entries and Rules page.

Questions?  Contact director@nasw.org